Friday, April 23, 2010

49th Dumaguete National Writers Workshop

This, I just got from

National Writers Workshop Director-in-Residence Rowena Tiempo Torrevillas, the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, and Silliman University are pleased to announce that the following young writers have been accepted as fellows for the 49th National Writers Workshop scheduled on 3-21 May 2010:

For Poetry
Gian Paolo Simeon Lao (Ateneo de Manila University)
Dominique Allison Santos (University of Santo Tomas)
Jacob Dominguez (University of Santo Tomas)
Oscar Serquina Jr. (University of the Philippines-Diliman)

For Fiction
Aaron James Jalalon (University of the Philippines–Mindanao)
Jenette Ethel Vizcocho (University of the Philippines-Diliman)
Gilda Ysobel Galang (Ateneo de Manila University)
Anne Carly Abad (Ateneo de Manila University)
Gino Francis Dizon (Ateneo de Manila University)
Jose Carlo Flordeliza (De La Salle University)
Ida Anita Del Mundo (De La Salle University)
Samantha Echavez (University of the Philippines-Diliman)

For Creative Non-Fiction
Kelly Marie Tulio Conlon (University of the Philippines–Mindanao)
Miro Frances Capili (University of the Philippines-Diliman)
Christina Mae del Rosario (Ateneo de Manila University) 

Can't wait to meet everyone. And see the beach. And some non-metro manila sky. And some historical sites maybe...

Of course that's not all I'm after. I may be lazy, but I'm certainly dedicated to my craft and improving it. I'm done with my week-long hiatus watching anime and TV series. Back to work. Back to life.

10th IYAS Creative Writing Workshop

I got this list from La Salle, Bacolod's site:

The Fellows for Fiction in English are: Fred Jordan Carnice, Roselle Jimeno, Vernan Jagunap, Francis Dizon and Anne Carly Abad (English), and Arbeen Acuña (Filipino).

The Fellows for Poetry are: Gian-Paolo Lao, Alyza Mary Taguilaso, Charmaine Carreon (English), Arbeen Acuña, Noel Fortun, Rogerick Fernandez (Filipino), Paul Randy Gumanao, Glenn Muñez (Cebuano), Elsed Togonon (Kinaray-a) and Simplicio Gadugdug (Boholano).

The panelists for this year are Dr. Dinah Roma-Sianturi, Dr. Elsie Coscolluela, Dr. Genevieve Asenjo, Dr. Danilo M. Reyes, Dr. Anthony Tan and Prof. John Iremil Teodoro.

The IYAS Creative Writing Workshop is sponsored by the University of St. La Salle and the Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center of De La Salle University and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts.

The 10th IYAS Creative Writing Workshop is set on April 25- May 1, 2010.

Quite late due to my never-ending laziness, but anyway, it's good to spread the word since it's free haha. I'll make another post for the list of Dumaguete Workshoppers for 2010 :D

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Iyas and Dumaguete Workshops

Well, I'm getting excited. I made it to both the 10th Iyas Creative Writing Workshop and the 49th Dumaguete National Writers Workshop. A bunch of people I know will be there as well, kinda like a reunion.

I'm leaving this Sunday and haven't really decided whether or not to send something to this year's Palanca writing contest. I'm just getting lazy these days, and I'd rather watch all those shows I missed while finishing college. Sigh...Never thought I'd have so much free time!

Anyhow, I've still got to finish this big ass painting my grandmother requested from me. It's been so long since I used oil paint that I thought I'd have a hard time handling it. But I guess once you get the feel of it you never forget the skill. Kinda like riding a bicycle. :D

I'm gonna have to update this blog more often as the release of my first book--my anthology of stories--gets near. Can't wait! And I can only hope this laziness lifts. :b